Christina Hendricks, oh my. ~girl crush~
So, the first time I heard about Christina Hendricks was when someone at work told me that I looked like her (OMG!), but I didn't know who she was, (side note- I had seen her before on tv and stuff but I didn't know her name). So I didn't think much of it, but when I was procrastinating in bed one morning, not wanting to get up (this always happens), I googled her on my phone. Good God. I knew who she was. And Duncan (that guy from work) had said I looked like her. I think that my initial reaction when I put the name to her face was a gasp, and then a giggle that someone was crazy enough to think I was just a little as gorgeous as she is! She's beautiful. And she's an example that curvy girls (and redheads) look hot. Bingo.
As my girlcrush began, I googled interview videos of her, and I -I have to admit it (sorry Christina)- I thought that her voice made her sound like some kind of bimbo (I think it was her boobs as well that did it), and I kind of went 'off' her- was she like her 'MadMen' character or something? But then something changed my mind...
As I was checking out the MTV News app (as always, before bed), I came across an article about Christina Hendricks, and how (despite being voted one of the sexiest people in the world) she had a horrible childhood. I read that she was a goth, who hung out with the 'theatre geeks', and people used to sit on the top of lockers to spit at her. It made me realise, (wow, 'Mean Girls' moment!) I had judged Christina Hendricks: From her looks and voice I had drawn my own conclusions, knowing nothing of her personality or past.
But it's not just about Christina Hendricks (I love writing her full name), I've judged a lot of people, and I know I'm not the only one. It's hardly surprising with all the media- forcing us to make a decision on some singer or something who has been 'snapped' with greasy hair. But WE do it, WE judge. It's human nature, I'm just making it my (very late) New Years Resolution not to judge people so much:) Wooo, no judging! (I have used brackets waaaay too much in this post).
What do you think of this post? Is it too serious? Too long? Leave me a comment! xxxx
Hey There...
My name's Lauren Gorman and this is my blog!
Basically, this is just some place where I scribble down loads of random stuff- For light hearted, funny posts on everyday things, follow me! You know you want to;D
To be completely honest, I don't really know what I'm doing. But sometimes I get bored, and sometimes I get creative. Hopefully with this blog, both of those things will happen at the same time:)
(oh, and i use brackets too much)
Have a lovely day~
Tuesday, 10 April 2012
Schools These Days
Being cynical time. Schooling is weird these days, people are taught things younger and younger- I got sex education in year 5! I was 10 years old looking at a picture of a penis. If that hadn't been in a classroom I'm pretty sure that school nurse would be in prison. It was a complete waste of time because whenever 'penis' or 'sex' was mentioned, people just burst out laughing! No one really understood what was going on... Quite frankly, I just thought it was silly, we couldn't have sex for another 6 years, I didn't have tits yet and I thought a sanitary towel was something you'd wipe your hands on.
What else do you get taught at a young age? 'Careers advice'. Really? Yes. Apparently, children as young as 7 can get 'careers advice'. Can you imagine how that conversation would go? 'So, what do you want to be when you're older?' 'Dragon Slayer'! When I was 7, I didn't even know what 'career' meant and I thought that the teachers slept at school.
Personally, I think that people are taught serious things too early, and primary school should be kept fun. What's the point? By the time you're old enough to use your 'careers advice' and 'sex education', you probably will have forgotten it, since you were given it 5 years ago!
Don't hate me for being cynical, I can't help having occasional strops at society~
What else do you get taught at a young age? 'Careers advice'. Really? Yes. Apparently, children as young as 7 can get 'careers advice'. Can you imagine how that conversation would go? 'So, what do you want to be when you're older?' 'Dragon Slayer'! When I was 7, I didn't even know what 'career' meant and I thought that the teachers slept at school.
Personally, I think that people are taught serious things too early, and primary school should be kept fun. What's the point? By the time you're old enough to use your 'careers advice' and 'sex education', you probably will have forgotten it, since you were given it 5 years ago!
Don't hate me for being cynical, I can't help having occasional strops at society~
Hello Thur!
Right, I've been putting this off for a while, but since I've just done a random post about my (ex- you'll understand if you've read it) dog, I ought to explain so you aren't all confused.
My name is Lauren and this is my blog:) I'm 16, studying (whilst slowly dying) A Levels and I spend my days eating bananas and drinking tea whilst watching tv. I did make this blog like a year ago, and it has always been on my to do list to set one up (get it?;D), but I've been a bit crap at posting stuff;/
This week is my easter holidays and I have the whole week off school and work (I have a part time job), and I have achieved nothing. To be completely honest, I only posted a picture of my dog on here because I was feeling energetic (and kind of sad) and wanted to avoid writing my English essay.
ANYWAYS, I don't want to waste your time any longer with my random chatter, so go and drink some tea and have a good day!:)X
My name is Lauren and this is my blog:) I'm 16, studying (whilst slowly dying) A Levels and I spend my days eating bananas and drinking tea whilst watching tv. I did make this blog like a year ago, and it has always been on my to do list to set one up (get it?;D), but I've been a bit crap at posting stuff;/
This week is my easter holidays and I have the whole week off school and work (I have a part time job), and I have achieved nothing. To be completely honest, I only posted a picture of my dog on here because I was feeling energetic (and kind of sad) and wanted to avoid writing my English essay.
ANYWAYS, I don't want to waste your time any longer with my random chatter, so go and drink some tea and have a good day!:)X
My Dog
This is my dog, Luna.
She is most definitely the funniest dog ever, and she has an amazing personality (shown in this photo). Yeah that's biased, so what? I really do love her.
Unfortunately, me and my mum had to give her away to another family after some sad personal events that meant we were unable to look after her properly. She's having a great time living with her new family, and I know that me and my mum did the right thing, I just miss her so much.
I think the worst part was when I was told we had to give her up- she was still following me around the house and I knew that tomorrow she wouldn't be.
If you don't have a dog, you'll probably think this post is ridiculous, but if you do, you'll understand. The thing is, dogs really do love you unconditionally, and it hurts so much to have to break that bond between you and your fury friend- who will always love you more that you ever could.
Go watch Marley&Me or something.
Whilst this is a serious post, I don't like to end on a bad note, so I hope this picture of Luna made you smile:')
She is most definitely the funniest dog ever, and she has an amazing personality (shown in this photo). Yeah that's biased, so what? I really do love her.
Unfortunately, me and my mum had to give her away to another family after some sad personal events that meant we were unable to look after her properly. She's having a great time living with her new family, and I know that me and my mum did the right thing, I just miss her so much.
I think the worst part was when I was told we had to give her up- she was still following me around the house and I knew that tomorrow she wouldn't be.
If you don't have a dog, you'll probably think this post is ridiculous, but if you do, you'll understand. The thing is, dogs really do love you unconditionally, and it hurts so much to have to break that bond between you and your fury friend- who will always love you more that you ever could.
Go watch Marley&Me or something.
Whilst this is a serious post, I don't like to end on a bad note, so I hope this picture of Luna made you smile:')
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

